Monday, December 5, 2011

Three days to 2103/2014 World Championships host city decision

In three days, the hosts for the 2013 and 2014 World Championships, and the 2013 Sudirman Cup, will be decided.
Australia's Melbourne has withdrawn its bid for the 2013 Sudirman Cup.
Following Australia's withdrawal, this leaves Malaysia's Kuala Lumpur as the sole bidder for the biennial event. Kuala Lumpur will present their bid to the BWF Council on Thursday, 8 December, and the outcome of their presentation will be determined on Friday, 9 December, during the Council Meeting.
Copenhagen, Macau and Guangzhou will also be presenting their bids for the 2013 and 2014 World Championships on Thursday.
Macau (China SAR) and Copenhagen (Denmark) have each submitted strong bids to host the 2013 and 2014 BWF World Championships. Guangzhou (China) joins in to make the bid for the 2013 World Championships a three-way contest.
The prestigious BWF World Championships is an annual event on the BWF calendar, with the exception of the Olympic Games’ years where the Games is deemed as an event of equivalent status to the BWF World Championships.
While Copenhagen is running for its fourth time hosting the event, Macau and Guangzhou are both vying for their maiden hosting right.
Though Guangzhou has hosted the Sudirman Cup in 2009, and has positioned itself as a top destination for sports events after the successful hosting of the 2010 Asian Games.
On Friday, 9 December, 2011, BWF Media will be bringing you the breaking news of the winning host cities for our 2013 and 2014 major events via our official Twitter and Weibo, so follow us right away and stay tuned.

Bid for badminton boost

The aim for this week's Badminton World Federation Council meeting in Queenstown is to gain recognition for the region to host top tournaments. Badminton is now the fifth most-played sport in the world.

Chong Wei beat Lin Dan as fan favourite; Indonesian fans win it for Liliyana

For 24 hours, badminton fans had their say on who they would like to have as the 2011 BWF Players of the Year. Here are the results.

The top four highest votes for the male and female Player of the Year fan vote campaign are as follows:

2011 BWF Male Player of the Year

Lee Chong Wei – 34% of votes
Lin Dan – 22% of votes
Cai Yun/Fu Haifeng – 16% of votes
Lee Yong-dae/Jung Jae-sung – 14% of votes

2011 BWF Female Player of the Year

Liliyana Natsir – 78% of votes
Wang Xiaoli/Yu Yang – 6% of votes
Wang Shixian – 5% of votes
Wang Yihan – 4% of votes

The fight to top the 2011 BWF Male Player of the Year fan vote still rests on the fiercest rivalry in the sport between the reigning World Champion Lin Dan and the 2011 silver medalist, Lee Chong Wei.

Though the fan poll has proven to be a bittersweet "revenge" for Lee Chong Wei, who was in 4th position on the poll at 4PM today, while Lin Dan had taken pole. Chong Wei eventually came up on top as the fan favourite, when he edged out the four-time World Champion by 12% of votes.

For the Female Player of the Year fan vote campaign, Indonesian fans came out strong for their sole nominee, mixed doubles specialist, Liliyana Natsir, this year. Sending the campaign on viral, the Indonesian fans were nothing less than passionate in going behind Natsir whom they salute as a role model.

The nomination lists for the Awards were released on 4 December, 2011, 8PM (Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia time, GMT +8) on the BWF official social media platforms, Twitter and Weibo. Two hours later, the voting channels were opened on our Facebook page and Weibo for fans to cast their vote, and to give their feedback.

The fan vote results will be shared with the BWF Council, who are currently meeting in Queenstown, New Zealand, and will take the decision of the winners.

While the 2011 season's results and performance are at the forefront of consideration, fans appeal and the role model quality of a player are of growing importance in the criteria of the BWF Player of the Year award.

The winners of the two prestigious awards will be announced at the Li Ning BWF World Superseries Finals in Liuzhou, China, next week and the winners will receive the honours over an Awards presentation ceremony at the event.

2011 BWF Male Player of the Year Nominees

Lee Chong Wei (Men's Singles, Malaysia, Yonex)
Lin Dan (Men's Singles, China, Li Ning)
Chen Long (Men's Singles, China, Li Ning)
Peter Gade (Men's Singles, Denmark, Yonex)
Cai Yun/Fu Haifeng (Men's Doubles, China, Kason)
Lee Yong-dae/Jung Jae-sung (Men's Doubles, Korea, Victor)
Mathias Boe/Carsten Mogensen (Men's Doubles, Denmark, Yonex)
Zhang Nan (Mixed Doubles, China, Li Ning)
Joachim Fischer (Mixed Doubles, Denmark, Yonex)

2011 BWF Female Player of the Year Nominees

Wang Yihan (Women's Singles, China, Li Ning)
Wang Xin (Women's Singles, China, Li Ning)
Wang Shixian (Women's Singles, China, Li Ning)
Wang Xiaoli/Yu Yang (Women's Doubles, China, Li Ning)
Zhao Yunlei (Women's/Mixed Doubles, China, Li Ning)
Christinna Pedersen (Mixed Doubles, Denmark, Yonex)
Liliyana Natsir (Mixed Doubles, Indonesia, Yonex)